Tag: Tessa Dare

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare Review

Romancing the Duke (Castles Ever After, #1)

Title: Romancing the Duke

Series: Castles Ever After #1

Author: Tessa Dare

Genre: Historical Romance

Synopsis:  

In the first in Tessa Dare’s captivating Castles Ever After series, a mysterious fortress is the setting for an unlikely love . . .

As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens. She never doubted romance would be in her future, too. The storybooks offered endless possibilities.

And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off. One by one by one.

Ugly duckling turned swan?
Abducted by handsome highwayman?
Rescued from drudgery by charming prince?

No, no, and… Heh.

Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head. What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed?

This one.

AmazonAssociates728x90 Audible

Format: audiobook

Pages/Hours: 370 pages / 9 hours

Ownership: Scribd

My Rating: ★★★★★

Themes: Beauty and the Beast, Tortured Hero

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare Elaine Howlin Book Blog

Review:  This is a great one for fans of Beauty and The Beast retellings that don’t retell the story scene for scene and also like their romances steamy 😉

It’s a beautiful story with some very entertaining and humorous moments.

Get the book: Amazon | Book Depository

description

Synopsis and book cover from Goodreads. Photos from my Instagram @elainehowlin_

May Wrap Up | Part One

AmazonAssociates728x90 Audible

I had a lot of catching up to do to get back on track for my reading goal so I read a bit more than normal this month. I’m now two books ahead of schedule 🎉

This has been an urban fantasy and paranormal heavy month because of the Vampire Wars reading challenge but those genres are pretty much my bread and butter so it’s been a very good month.

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress #1) by Jeaniene Frost ★★★★★

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1)

Urban Fantasy, Romance

This was my third time reading this book. The first time I hated it and the second I really enjoyed it. I decided to give the audiobook a go this time round and really enjoyed that too. I have no idea why I hated it so much the first time…

The series follows Cat and Bones, a dhampire and a vampire who hunt vampires.

Reap the Wind (Cassie Palmer #7) by Karen Chance ★★★★☆

Reap the Wind (Cassandra Palmer, #7)

Urban Fantasy

My favourite series 💜 I’ve been rereading this in anticipation of Brave the Tempest coming out this year. The series has an overarching storyline so I can’t tell you about what happens in this one but the series follows Cassie, a time-hopping clairvoyant during a war between supernatural factions. It’s a fast-paced and action packed series.

Ride the Storm (Cassie Palmer #8) by Karen Chance ★★★★★

Ride the Storm (Cassandra Palmer, #8)

Urban Fantasy

I loved this book! I’m so glad I reread it before starting Brave the Tempest because there were some introductions in this book that I had actually forgotten about. This one isn’t as action focused as Reap the Wind but it’s better for it.

One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost Elaine Howlin Book Blog

One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress #2) by Jeaniene Frost ★★★★☆

One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress, #2)

Urban Fantasy, Romance

I decided I might as well listen to the second book in the series after listening to the first. The audiobooks are pretty good for this one though the narrators British accent for Bones grates on me a little bit.

Pleasure of the Dark Prince (Immortals After Dark #9) by Kresley Cole ★★★★★

Pleasure of a Dark Prince (Immortals After Dark, #9)

Paranormal Romance

One of my favourites from this series 💜 I absolutely love their journey on the rubber boom ship in the Amazon. It adds an element of natural magic and mystery to a paranormal story.

Brave the Tempest by Karen Chance Elaine Howlin Book Blog

Brave the Tempest (Cassie Palmer #9) by Karen Chance ★★★★★

Brave the Tempest (Cassandra Palmer, #9)

Urban Fantasy, Romance

I was so excited to get this ARC from NetGalley! I absolutely loved it! It felt like a book written specially for fans of the series, connecting events from much earlier books and just being amazing! Due for release July 30th, 2019.

Romancing the Duke (Castles Ever After #1) by Tessa Dare ★★★★★

Romancing the Duke (Castles Ever After, #1)

Historical Romance

Humorous and sweet. A good one for fans of romances inspired by Beauty and the Beast

A Ghost in the Glamour: A Linx & Bogie Story by Elizabeth Hunter ★★★★☆

A Ghost in the Glamour: A Linx & Bogie story

Paranormal, Mystery

A very short book but very well written. Hunter is great at writing fantasy/paranormal that focuses mainly on a good story instead of romance or action.

description

Do You Want to Start a Scandal by Tessa Dare Review

Do You Want to Start a Scandal (Spindle Cove, #5; Castles Ever After, #4)Title: Do You Want to Start a Scandal

Author: Tessa Dare

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Castles Ever After #4, Spindle Cover #5

Goodreads Rating: 4.08/5

Goodreads Link

Synopsis:  On the night of the Parkhurst ball, someone had a scandalous tryst in the library. Was it Lord Canby, with the maid, on the divan? Or Miss Fairchild, with a rake, against the wall? Perhaps the butler did it.

All Charlotte Highwood knows is this: it wasn’t her. But rumors to the contrary are buzzing. Unless she can discover the lovers’ true identity, she’ll be forced to marry Piers Brandon, Lord Granville—the coldest, most arrogantly handsome gentleman she’s ever had the misfortune to embrace. When it comes to emotion, the man hasn’t got a clue.

But as they set about finding the mystery lovers, Piers reveals a few secrets of his own. The oh-so-proper marquess can pick locks, land punches, tease with sly wit . . . and melt a woman’s knees with a single kiss. The only thing he guards more fiercely than Charlotte’s safety is the truth about his dark past.

Their passion is intense. The danger is real. Soon Charlotte’s feeling torn. Will she risk all to prove her innocence? Or surrender it to a man who’s sworn to never love?

Do You Want to Start a Scandal by Tessa Dare Elaine Howlin Literary Blog
Instagram @elainehowlin_ & @elaine_reads_romance

What I thought about the book: Another great historical romance from Tessa Dare. This one features a mystery and the hero is a spy! Such a fun read. I love it when historicals have interesting subplots like this.

It’s kind of like a historical romantic James Bond story.

Image result for james bond gif

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Get the book: Amazon | Book Depository

Image result for amazon audible banner

Synopsis and book cover from Goodreads. Photos from my Instagram @elainehowlin_

When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare Review

When a Scot Ties the Knot (Castles Ever After, #3)Title: When a Scot Ties the Knot

Author: Tessa Dare

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Castles Ever After #3

Goodreads Rating: 3.97/5

Goodreads Link

Synopsis:  On the cusp of her first London season, Miss Madeline Gracechurch was shyly pretty and talented with a drawing pencil, but hopelessly awkward with gentlemen. She was certain to be a dismal failure on the London marriage mart. So Maddie did what generations of shy, awkward young ladies have done: she invented a sweetheart.

A Scottish sweetheart. One who was handsome and honorable and devoted to her, but conveniently never around. Maddie poured her heart into writing the imaginary Captain MacKenzie letter after letter… and by pretending to be devastated when he was (not really) killed in battle, she managed to avoid the pressures of London society entirely.

Until years later, when this kilted Highland lover of her imaginings shows up in the flesh. The real Captain Logan MacKenzie arrives on her doorstep—handsome as anything, but not entirely honorable. He’s wounded, jaded, in possession of her letters… and ready to make good on every promise Maddie never expected to keep.

When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare Elaine Howlin Literary Blog
Instagram @elainehowlin_ & @elaine_reads_romance

What I thought about the book: I really enjoyed this. It’s a totally fluffy feel-good read that manages to avoid being too cute.

I totally identify with Maddie’s desire to avoid society and her shyness though not to the same extent (she tends to have panic attacks) and Logan *swoon* new book boyfriend right there.

Related image

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Get the book: Amazon | Book Depository

audible Best sellers

Synopsis and book cover from Goodreads. Photos from my Instagram @elainehowlin_

A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare Review

A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove, #1)Title: A Night to Surrender

Author: Tessa Dare

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Spindle Cove #1

Goodreads Rating: 3.78/5

Goodreads Link

Synopsis: Welcome to Spindle Cove, where the ladies with delicate constitutions come for the sea air, and men in their prime are… nowhere to be found. Or are they?

Spindle Cove is the destination of choice for certain types of well-bred young ladies: the painfully shy, young wives disenchanted with matrimony, and young girls too enchanted with the wrong men; it is a haven for those who live there.

Victor Bramwell, the new Earl of Rycliff, knows he doesn’t belong here. So far as he can tell, there’s nothing in this place but spinsters… and sheep. But he has no choice, he has orders to gather a militia. It’s a simple mission, made complicated by the spirited, exquisite Susanna Finch—a woman who is determined to save her personal utopia from the invasion of Bram’s makeshift army.

Susanna has no use for aggravating men; Bram has sworn off interfering women. The scene is set for an epic battle… but who can be named the winner when both have so much to lose?

A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare Elaine Howlin Literary Blog
Instagram @elainehowlin_ & @elaine_reads_romance

What I thought about the book: Maybe 2.5 stars. I found this quite boring but I really enjoyed her other books so I think this one is the exception, not the rule.

It’s a very fluffy book so if that’s what you’re looking for, you got it.

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

Get the book: Amazon | Book Depository 

Related image

Synopsis and book cover from Goodreads. Photos from my Instagram @elainehowlin_