Tag: historical romance

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare Review

Romancing the Duke (Castles Ever After, #1)

Title: Romancing the Duke

Series: Castles Ever After #1

Author: Tessa Dare

Genre: Historical Romance

Synopsis:  

In the first in Tessa Dare’s captivating Castles Ever After series, a mysterious fortress is the setting for an unlikely love . . .

As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens. She never doubted romance would be in her future, too. The storybooks offered endless possibilities.

And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off. One by one by one.

Ugly duckling turned swan?
Abducted by handsome highwayman?
Rescued from drudgery by charming prince?

No, no, and… Heh.

Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head. What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed?

This one.

AmazonAssociates728x90 Audible

Format: audiobook

Pages/Hours: 370 pages / 9 hours

Ownership: Scribd

My Rating: ★★★★★

Themes: Beauty and the Beast, Tortured Hero

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare Elaine Howlin Book Blog

Review:  This is a great one for fans of Beauty and The Beast retellings that don’t retell the story scene for scene and also like their romances steamy 😉

It’s a beautiful story with some very entertaining and humorous moments.

Get the book: Amazon | Book Depository

description

Synopsis and book cover from Goodreads. Photos from my Instagram @elainehowlin_

Dreaming of You by Lisa Kleypas Review

Dreaming of You (The Gamblers of Craven's, #2)

Title: Dreaming of You

Series: The Gamblers of Craven’s #2

Author: Lisa Kleypas

Genre: Historical Romance

Synopsis: In the shelter of her country cottage, Sara Fielding puts pen to paper to create dreams. But curiosity has enticed the prim, well-bred gentlewoman out of her safe haven—and into Derek Craven’s dangerous world.

A handsome, tough and tenacious Cockney, he rose from, poverty to become lord of London’s most exclusive gambling house—a struggle that has left Derek Craven fabulously wealthy, but hardened and suspicious. And now duty demands he allow Sara Fielding into his world—with her impeccable manners and her infuriating innocence. But here, in a perilous shadow-realm of ever-shifting fortunes, even a proper “mouse” can be transformed into a breathtaking enchantress—and a world-weary gambler can be shaken to his cynical core by the power of passion… and the promise of love.

Dreaming of You by Lisa Kleypas Elaine Howlin Book Blog
Instagram @elainehowlin_

Format: ebook

Pages/Hours: 384 pages

Ownership: own

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Themes: Tortured Hero, Wealthy Hero, Virgin Heroine

Review:  Derek Craven seems to be on a lot of ladies book boyfriend list but not me sadly. He’s a bit too brash for me but I loved everything else about this book. Sara Fielding is my favourite type of heroine to read about. She’s industrious and independent without having to shove it in peoples faces. She knows what she wants or has to do and just works towards it.

description

Get the book: Amazon | Book Depository

Synopsis and book cover from Goodreads. Photos from my Instagram @elainehowlin_

March Wrap Up

“March came in that winter like the meekest and mildest of lambs, bringing days that were crisp and golden and tingling, each followed by a frosty pink twilight which gradually lost itself in an elfland of moonshine.” 
― L.M. Montgomery

I started March with a few rereads. I guess I was feeling nostalgic or something…. I should have been reading for The Irish Readathon but sadly only managed one book for it. I was visiting family and traveling for two weeks at the end of the month so that’s my excuse for not reading as much.

Instagram @elainehowlin_

A Hunger Like No Other (Immortals After Dark #2) by Kresley Cole ★★★★☆

A Hunger Like No Other (Immortals After Dark, #2)

Paranormal Romance

I first read this in 2016. You can read my original review here. I enjoyed it a lot more on my second read. The main characters annoyed me a lot less because I understood why they behaved the way they did and where their story was going.

This book seems to have very mixed reviews from people because Lachlain hits very highly on the Alpha-Asshole scale.

Shadow Game (Ghost Walkers #1) by Christine Feehan ★★★☆☆

Shadow Game (GhostWalkers, #1)

Paranormal Romance

I first read this in 2016 as well but it was on audio and I kept falling asleep. Not cause it was boring just cause I was listening at night and kept snoozing so a lot of this seemed new to me reading as an ebook.

.

Deeper Than Midnight (Midnight Breed #9) by Lara Adrian ★★★★☆

Deeper Than Midnight (Midnight Breed, #9)

Paranormal Romance

This one I read for the Kick’n Down Your TBR challenge in Gotta Have Romance With a Kick on Goodreads. I read book #8 in this series in 2013 so it took me awhile to remember everything about the series when I started this one (and most of it hasn’t come back to me 😅). Despite forgetting most of what was going on Adrian’s little recaps throughout the story reminded me of the important stuff and I ended up enjoying the story. I think the earlier books in this series were more romance focused and this one felt very story and action focused with a romance.

The Dark Calling (Arcana Chronicles #5) by Kresley Cole ★★★★☆

The Dark Calling (The Arcana Chronicles, #5)

YA, Fantasy

So close to the end now 😭😭😭 This series has been such an insane and emotional roller coaster! I am VERY invested in these characters now and if anything bad happens (or worse that what has already happened) to them I will be very upset. Cole is such a fantastic writer. She manages to write fiction in genres that are usually so predictable in a way that’s familiar but still refreshing. And she is a master at developing tension.

Dreaming of You (Gamblers #2) by Lisa Kleypas ★★★★☆

Dreaming of You (Gamblers, #2)

Historical Romance

I read this book for the Romanceopoly challenge. I landed on Austen Row – Read a classic romance OR a historical romance on UTC or Peace Love Books rec lists. So I chose a book from the rec list and really enjoyed it. This was my first Lisa Kleypas book, it was published in 1994 and I think certain elements of it show that it was a historical romance from that time. There are some things that the characters do that just don’t happen in historical romances anymore. But it’s a very good book and definitely doesn’t go as far as being rapey like romances often did in the 70’s/80’s.

Under the Duvet by Marian Keyes ★★★★☆

Under the Duvet

Essays

If you want to see what life was like for Irish people in the late 90’s and early 00’s then read this. Some of the language may be a little confusing if you’re not Irish but it’s a very entertaining collection nonetheless.

Do You Want to Start a Scandal by Tessa Dare Review

Do You Want to Start a Scandal (Spindle Cove, #5; Castles Ever After, #4)Title: Do You Want to Start a Scandal

Author: Tessa Dare

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Castles Ever After #4, Spindle Cover #5

Goodreads Rating: 4.08/5

Goodreads Link

Synopsis:  On the night of the Parkhurst ball, someone had a scandalous tryst in the library. Was it Lord Canby, with the maid, on the divan? Or Miss Fairchild, with a rake, against the wall? Perhaps the butler did it.

All Charlotte Highwood knows is this: it wasn’t her. But rumors to the contrary are buzzing. Unless she can discover the lovers’ true identity, she’ll be forced to marry Piers Brandon, Lord Granville—the coldest, most arrogantly handsome gentleman she’s ever had the misfortune to embrace. When it comes to emotion, the man hasn’t got a clue.

But as they set about finding the mystery lovers, Piers reveals a few secrets of his own. The oh-so-proper marquess can pick locks, land punches, tease with sly wit . . . and melt a woman’s knees with a single kiss. The only thing he guards more fiercely than Charlotte’s safety is the truth about his dark past.

Their passion is intense. The danger is real. Soon Charlotte’s feeling torn. Will she risk all to prove her innocence? Or surrender it to a man who’s sworn to never love?

Do You Want to Start a Scandal by Tessa Dare Elaine Howlin Literary Blog
Instagram @elainehowlin_ & @elaine_reads_romance

What I thought about the book: Another great historical romance from Tessa Dare. This one features a mystery and the hero is a spy! Such a fun read. I love it when historicals have interesting subplots like this.

It’s kind of like a historical romantic James Bond story.

Image result for james bond gif

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Get the book: Amazon | Book Depository

Image result for amazon audible banner

Synopsis and book cover from Goodreads. Photos from my Instagram @elainehowlin_

My Lady’s Choosing: An Interactive Romance Novel Review

My Lady's Choosing: An Interactive Romance NovelTitle: My Lady’s Choosing: An Interactive Romance Novel
 
Author: Kitty Curran and Larissa Zageris
 
Genre: Romance
 
Series: N/A
 
Goodreads Rating: 3.59/5
 
 

Synopsis: The romance novel that lets you pick your path, follow your heart, and find happily ever after

You are the plucky but penniless heroine in the center of eighteenth-century society, courtship season has begun, and your future is at hand. Will you flip forward fetchingly to find love with the bantering baronet Sir Benedict Granville? Or turn the page to true love with the hardworking, horse-loving highlander Captain Angus McTaggart? Or perhaps race through the chapters chasing a good (and arousing) man gone mad, bad, and scandalous to know, Lord Garraway Craven? Or read on recklessly and take to the Continent as the “traveling companion” of the spirited and adventuresome Lady Evangeline? Or yet some other intriguing fate? Make choices, turn pages, and discover all the daring delights of the multiple (and intertwining!) storylines. And in every path you pick, beguiling illustrations bring all the lust and love to life.

 
✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯ 
 

What I thought about the book:  Image and video hosting by TinyPic

It was a fun book. A bit raunchier than I expected but in a silly way.

I was expecting it to be like Pride and Prejudice but it’s more like modern Historical Romances with manly Scotsmen “cabers” and so on…

For my adventure, I ran off with a hot Scot to the Highlands. It wasn’t just romance though. There was a murder mystery for me to puzzle out too which kept the story interesting. I liked how the option to naturally change adventures during the story came up a few times as well in case I got bored of my Scot (as if!).

Very enjoyable, good for a few giggles. A great light-hearted rainy day read that you can revisit and begin something new.

 
✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯
 
My Rating: 4 star review
 
Get the book: Amazon / Book Depository 
buy now on Book Depository