Reading Plans & Instagram Templates | October TBR

TBR Reading Plans Elaine Howlin

Hello friends, who else is super excited for October?! This is my favourite month of the year. Proper autumn weather and Halloween 🎃 I’ve already started decorating for the spooky season and I’ll have some printable’s for you all soon.

For this months reading I’m continuing with my ARC’s and I’ve picked some books that put the so called bad guys in the driving seat.

What are you reading this month? Scroll to the bottom of the post for the Bookstagram Story Templates.

Ink and Sigil by Kevin Hearne

From New York Times bestselling author Kevin Hearne comes the start of a hugely entertaining new series set in the world of the Iron Druid Chronicles – about an eccentric master of magic solving an uncanny mystery in Scotland . . .

Al MacBharrais is both blessed and cursed. He is blessed with an extraordinary white moustache, an appreciation for craft cocktails – and a most unique magical talent. He can cast spells with magically enchanted ink and he uses his gifts to protect our world from rogue minions of various pantheons, especially the Fae.

But he is also cursed. Anyone who hears his voice will begin to feel an inexplicable hatred for Al, so he can only communicate through the written word or speech apps. And his apprentices keep dying in peculiar freak accidents. As his personal life crumbles around him, he devotes his life to his work, all the while trying to crack the secret of his curse.

But when his latest apprentice, Gordie, turns up dead in his Glasgow flat, Al discovers evidence that Gordie was living a secret life of crime. Now Al is forced to play detective – while avoiding actual detectives who are wondering why death seems to always follow Al. Investigating his apprentice’s death will take him through Scotland’s magical underworld, and he’ll need the help of a mischievous hobgoblin if he’s to survive.

Packed to the brim with mystery, magic and mayhem, Ink & Sigil is perfect for fans of Rivers of London and Rotherweird.

Get the book: Amazon | Kobo

Advertisements

Flameskin by Camille Longley

A cursed slave, a dethroned prince, and a heartless thief.

Lark is a flameskin slave, cursed with terrible powers and unable to escape her life of pain. When a smuggling job goes wrong, Lark is abandoned by her slaver to be killed or captured. She is given a chance for freedom, but it comes at a steep price.

Soren can no longer stand by and watch the usurper empress destroy his home, but all his efforts to help his people only create more chaos. When an invading army breeches the empire’s border, Soren is left with a besieged city to save and his honor to salvage.

Maku returns from his long journey overseas to rescue the girl he loves, or at least, the girl he used to love. Maku’s been extinguished—fire has burned away all his emotions. He has one last heist to pull off, but it’s a job that may endanger the one person he’s trying to protect.

This world of treachery and magic and will be sure to leave readers burning for more. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J. Maas.

eARC provided by the author. Due for release in November

Advertisements

Priest by Sierra Simone

There are many rules a priest can’t break. A priest cannot marry. A priest cannot abandon his flock. A priest cannot forsake his God.

I’ve always been good at following rules.

Until she came. Then I learned new rules.

My name is Tyler Anselm Bell. I’m twenty-nine years old. Six months ago, I broke my vow of celibacy on the altar of my own church, and God help me, I would do it again.

I am a priest and this is my confession.

Get the book: Amazon | Kobo

Advertisements

Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly

‘In an ancient city by the sea, three sisters – a maiden, a mother, and a crone – are drawing maps by candlelight. Sombre, with piercing grey eyes, they are the three Fates, and every map is a human life . . .’

Stepsister takes up where Cinderella’s tale ends. We meet Isabelle, the younger of Cinderella’s two stepsisters. Ella is considered beautiful; stepsister Isabelle is not. Isabelle is fearless, brave, and strong-willed. She fences better than any boy, and takes her stallion over jumps that grown men fear to attempt. It doesn’t matter, though; these qualities are not valued in a girl. Others have determined what is beautiful, and Isabelle does not fit their definition. Isabelle must face down the demons that drove her cruel treatment of Ella, challenge her own fate and maybe even redefine the very notion of beauty . . .

Cinderella is about a girl who was bullied; Stepsister is about the bully. We all root for the victims, we want to see them triumph. But what about the bullies? Is there hope for them? Can a mean girl change? Can she find her own happily ever after?

Get the book: Amazon | Kobo

Advertisements

The Evil Queen by Gena Showalter

Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter’s magical, romantic dark fantasy series, in which the fairy tales we know and love are prophecies of the future.

Welcome to the Forest of Good and Evil, where villains may be heroes and heroes may be villains…it all depends on who you ask.

In the realm of Enchantia, creatures of legend still exist, magic is the norm, and fairy tales are real.

Raised in the human world, Everly Morrow has no idea she’s a fairy-tale princess—until she begins to commune with mirrors. Soon, a horrifying truth is revealed. She is fated to be Snow White’s greatest enemy, the Evil Queen.

With powers beyond her imagination or control, Everly returns to the land of her birth. There, she meets Roth Charmaine, the supposed Prince Charming. Their attraction is undeniable, but their relationship is doomed. As Everly faces disasters and betrayals, giving in to her dark side proves more tempting. Can she resist, or will she become the villain she was born to be?

Get the book: Amazon | Kobo

Advertisements

The Ghost Tree by Christina Henry

Lauren and Miranda have been best friends forever. Every day one would say, “Meet me by the old ghost-tree” and they would have adventures together. But now Miranda only likes boys, and Lauren’s father was found in the woods with his heart torn out, and no one was ever caught. So when Lauren has a vision of a monster dragging human remains through the woods, she knows she can’t just do nothing.

Get the book: Amazon | Kobo

Bookstagram Story Templates

Where to Find Me

Processing…
Success! You’re on the list.

12 thoughts on “Reading Plans & Instagram Templates | October TBR

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.